Make your nominations for this year's Derbyshire Sports Awards

Derbyshire Sports Awards 2015

The annual Derbyshire Sports Awards, sponsored by the University of Derby and held every November, is one of the showpiece occasions in the county’s sporting calendar.

The top prize – the University of Derby Sportsperson of the Year – was won by City of Derby swimmer Adam Peaty in 2014 – after he secured two Commonwealth Games and four European Championships gold medals and also broke the world record in the 50m breaststroke.

But it is not just the elite talent that is celebrated, but the unsung heroes and those at grass levels too, with nominations and winners coming across the County, from the High Peak to South Derbyshire.

Categories are included for coaches, volunteers, clubs and disabled participants, as well as juniors and senior sports competitors.

The list of past Sportsperson of the Year winners boasts some illustrious names, including swimmer Ross Davenport, bobsledder Nicola Minichiello, badminton player Donna Kellogg and mountain biker Annie Last.

And a number of special guests have spoken at the event, Sally Gunnell, Colin Jackson and Steve McClaren among them.

In 2015, the Derbyshire Sports Awards will celebrate its 10th anniversary, with shortlisted nominees to be announced in October once local district and borough winners have been chosen in September following a summer nomination process.

To download a nomination form for the Derbyshire Sports Awards (between May and August), go to the website of organisers Derbyshire Sport and click on Sports Awards.

Back to news